On re-reading Whitman

Dear man!

Those birds remembered first to sing

That saw together you and me and Spring;

And I was happiest

(CKSM, May 1909)

And when I thought how my dear friend my lover was

on his way coming, O then I was happy…

And that night while all was still I heard the waters roll

slowly continually up the shores…

For the one I love most lay sleeping by me under the same

cover in the cool night,

In the stillness in the autumn moonbeams his face was

inclined towards me,

And his arm lay lightly around my breast – and that night

I was happy.

(Walt Whitman, 1860)

Could it be?

Leave a Reply

